MY GUIDE Agencies > 4 Key Parts of Your Child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP)

KEYWORDS: age 3 through 5agencieslocal education agency


Dive in and mark it up

Your child’s Individualized Educational Program (IEP) belongs to you as a member of the ARD/IEP team. You have a right to understand it, but it may take some work. Don’t be shy—use a highlighter, post-it notes or whatever you need to take notes and mark up important sections. This overview covers four of the most important parts of the IEP. 

1. The Eligibility Section

This is usually on the front page and explains why your child qualifies for special education. Make sure you agree with the disability category selected. Provide any additional information the school may need or ask questions if you do not understand the disability category. 

2. The PLAAFP Section

PLAAFP stands for Present Levels of Academic Achievement and Functional Performance. It is sometimes referred to as “Present Levels.” This may be the most important part of the IEP because it tells you how the school assesses your child’s skills. The PLAAFP will focus on your child’s needs to help direct his learning. The rest of the IEP is based on this section, so it’s important that you understand and agree with it.

3. The Goals Section

The goals outlined are what your child will work on during the school year. Make sure you are able to read these goals and understand what your child will be learning and how his progress will be measured. Highlight any goals that you don’t understand. If you need more information ask your team, “Can you show me what this looks like at school and at home?”

4. The Accommodations / Modifications Section

This is where you will find things like preferred seating, movement breaks, communication devices, and any adaptations your child might need for holding a paintbrush or pencil. Make sure you understand any recommended accommodations and modifications listed, and speak up if you think your child needs others that are not listed.